Rising Star and Shining Star Awards

Launched during the 2010-11 school year, the Rising Star and Shining Star Awards recognize two CGLA students each year for their outstanding STEAM academic achievement and leadership. Students are selected based on an award application and presentation to a panel of teachers and peers. CGLA’s inaugural winners were recognized at the Odyssey 2011 Luncheon and Awards Ceremony in May 2011. Congratulations to 2014 winners Wendy Reynoso-Diaz (Rising Star) and Samantha Bautista (Shining Star) for receiving such an honor! Education strategist Ian Symmonds was this year’s keynote speaker.

Previous Rising Star and Shining Star Recipients (Odyssey Luncheon Keynote Speaker)

2013 – Briana Howard and Guilda Xiloj  (Jimmy Wayne)

2012 – Frida Uwimana and Shaunte Hunter  (Michele Norris)

2011 – N’Seya Cosme’ and Te’ara Jones  (Soledad O’Brien)




Bookmark and Share

Donate Now

Donate By Check

To make a donation via check, please mail to:

P.O. Box 3837
Chattanooga, TN 37404

Please make checks payable to Young Women’s Leadership Academy Foundation

“You can teach a student a lesson for a day; but if you can teach her to learn by creating curiosity, she will continue the learning process as long as she lives.” – Clay P. Bedford

Copyright © 2012 InTown Media Solutions. All rights reserved.